A Letter From Mexico

After living here for a few months I wrote a letter home to my mom that I recently re-discovered.  Reading it again reminded me how amazed I was by everything that I experienced and everyone that I met.  It’s pretty clear that I was loving my new life and discovering all of the amazing things that my new country had to offer. Missing home and family is a big part of moving away but so is experiencing new things and learning to love life in a whole new way.

Here it is.
I had the most amazing day today! So we went to the beach today and had an amazing time just playing in the water with all the kids on the beach and pretty much anyone else because Canelo (our Boxer puppy) was so cute. We had the best time at the beach. We were in the shade and had mango with chile and beers… it was perfect. And it rained! So then we came home and showered and got ready for dinner at the famous ‘divers’ house. Brian (my husband) has told me a lot about him and the fish that he cooks. I didn’t really know what to expect…

970134_10151768974165149_1129081450_n

Canelo chasing me at the beach

We got to his house and he has 2 dogs, 2 cats, a turkey, a rooster, a ton of chickens, a parrot, and a Coati which is like a raccoon and a monkey and a cat all mixed together! He has a coconut tree and a banana tree. Their bathroom and shower are outside as well as their sink. And!! He has Conches everywhere! They are huge. And turtle eggs!!!! Oh my gosh mom I can’t even tell you how amazing it was.

487983_10151462479025149_1859632587_n

I never got a picture of their pet Coati but here are some that we got to see at Xel Ha

He made some amazing salsa one the spot mostly using stuff from his potted plants. Have you ever seen those commercials for XX beer with the most interesting man in the world?? Well news flash! It’s not the man in the commercials.. it’s Carlos!!! Mom, it was so crazy and so much to take in all at once.

1926886_10202099871192266_1065026606_n

The most interesting man in the world (in the yellow hat)

When we walked in he was deep frying fish in some deep fryer that I’ve never seen before. The fishes were all different and he had caught all of them this morning 🙂 He had some marinade on them and then fried them…. Best.Fish.Ever. Super crispy and sticky and hot and fresh and umm I don’t eve know how to tell you. The whole time I was just wishing I had a video camera so that I could show you all of this so you could experience it (this message will not do it justice!) So we had amazing fish and they had huge teeth!! Like human teeth. (I’ll send you pictures)

510_10151287786896529_1469539256_n

These were some of the fish that he had grilled

Brian was so happy that I liked the fish (I don’t care for fish or Seafood)  Adriana made guacamole and Carlos and his wife Sofi made 2 salsas, one spicy and one like a pico de gallo but better with avocado. Then we had meat, I think it was like steak of some sort I don’t know the name in English. He cooked it on cinder blocks.. It was amazing also! He marinaded it with a bunch of stuff and tasted it before he grilled it, he decided it was missing something and added orange soda! What?? Amazing!

1932286_10202099870272243_2032870471_n

Brian getting ready to eat fried lobster tail

1782147_10202099869512224_774530478_n

Yum!

I wish that you could experience all of this mom. His wife is probably the nicest woman I have ever met. You can just feel her energy. She is so sweet with such a big heart. Brian described them as people who may not have much but will still give you everything that they have. We ate tacos, drank beer, and laughed at everything but especially the fact that Chris somehow split his pants down the back and Adriana told their daughter, Xiomara, that he farted and thats why they broke and she believed him. At the end Carlos let Xiomara and her cousin Nico pick out Conches and take them home. Xiomara was crying and tired so Carlos pulled out some shells that you only find at the bottom of the ocean and fixed everything.. and then! (as if things couldn’t get any better) he pulls out another one and gives it to me! I’m tan, I’m full, I’m amazed and I’m so happy I could cry. I miss you but I had to tell you everything while it was still fresh in my mind! I love you so much and will call you tomorrow.

JJ

When my mom and brother came to visit I took them to Carlos and Sofi’s house and we had just as much fun, maybe even more, than the first time I went there. Here’s the proof!
1743469_10202100027796181_1014239019_n

1800437_10202100026516149_1339961761_n

Leave a comment