A Taste of Home

When I moved here 3 and a half years ago I was so excited to see and try everything that I didn’t miss much from back home.  Except the food.  I could dream about a #2 animal style with animal style fries from In N Out for a few good hours or even how many things I could finish from Taco Bell in one sitting.  That being said there is one thing that I miss that can only be found in one spot of my home town. Orange Sauce.

Pizza, hamburgers, quesadillas, burritos, pretty much anything could be made infinitely better by adding this spicy sauce to it.  I’ve only been back to California once since moving here and wasn’t able to fit the beloved sauce into my trip *gasp*. Then my brother sent me a copy cat recipe a few months ago and I’ve been dying to make it since I got it.

Once I got all the ingredients it was time to put on some good music, dance to keep Chamaca entertained, and start cooking!

I began by browning/charring the tomatoes and onion in one pan until they looked like this.
onions-tomatoes

And then slowly browning chiles and garlic over hot oil in another pan.
chiles-garlic

Then I added water and apple cider vinegar to a blender along with the chiles and garlic and let it sit.  Then blend away!
sauce-in-blender

Finally I added the tomato, onion, salt, and the rest of the oil required and blended until smooth.
orange-sauce

I won’t lie, I was so excited to eat this sauce that I made something special for dinner just so I could put the sauce all over it.  (Photo not shown because I was so excited to eat my creation!)

While it’s not exactly the same, it’s really close and I’ve pretty much eaten it everyday since making it. You can find the link to the recipe here.

Do you have any foods that you can’t live without? Share them with us in the comments.

2 thoughts on “A Taste of Home

  1. KlaidK says:

    I honestly cannot live without potatoes. Whether they’re mashed, made into fries or just roasted, I love them. I come from Eastern European origins so most of our food traditionally involves potatoes and I’m glad that living in London everyone serves potatoes in some shape or form at restaurants haha.

    Like

    • meetmeincancun says:

      Same here! Carbs are a major food group to us. We wouldn’t mind trying this sauce on mashed potato tacos (sounds weird but trust us they are life changing). Hope to hear more about your carb adventures in the future! Saludos desde Cancun!

      Like

Leave a comment